Return to Headlines

EBOE Swears in Newly Elected Members at Reorganization Meeting

EBOE Holds 2024 Reorganization Meeting

The Elizabeth Board of Education held a swearing-in ceremony on Wednesday, January 3 for its three newly elected members at its reorganization meeting at Chessie Dentley Roberts Academy School No. 30.

Maria Z. Carvalho, Jerry Jacobs, and Rosa E. Moreno-Ortega each earned three-year terms in the November 2023 election. Jacobs and Moreno-Ortega, who have served the Board since 2017, are entering their third terms, while Carvalho, a member of the Board since 2014, is serving her fourth term.

Carvalho was sworn in by City of Elizabeth Chief Municipal Prosecutor Anabela Dacruz-Melo, Esq., Jacobs was sworn in by City of Elizabeth Councilwoman-At-Large Patricia Perkins-Auguste, and Moreno-Ortega was sworn in by City of Elizabeth 2nd Ward Councilman Nelson Gonzalez.

In addition to swearing in the new members, the Board reorganized and unanimously voted Charlene Bathelus Dorgely to serve as president and Stanley Neron as vice president.

The new Board president and vice president, as well as the three sworn-in members, each addressed the audience, thanking the community for their support and expressing their unwavering commitment to continued service of the children of Elizabeth who attend Elizabeth Public Schools and the greater Elizabeth community.