Return to Headlines

EBOE meeting on October 18 at Mabel G. Holmes School No. 5

The Elizabeth Board of Education meeting on October 18 at Mabel G. Holmes School No. 5 opened with a moment of silence for retired John E. Dwyer Technology Academy 6 Hour General Worker Mirta Gomez, retired Victor Mravlag School No. 21 Library/Media Specialist Albert O’Connell, retired Christa McAuliffe Middle School Secretary Virginia Griffith, and retired Woodrow Wilson School No. 19 Principal Daniel Manies. A Board resolution was presented in honor of Manies’ 40 year career as a teacher, vice principal, and principal by Board member Isaias J. Rivera.  

Before the Board went through its agenda, Superintendent Olga Hugelmeyer presented the student representative to the Board for the October meeting, senior Pricilla Ann Jimenez of Alexander Hamilton Preparatory Academy. Jimenez has served in various leadership positions throughout her high school career. As a freshman, she was elected president of her class council. As a sophomore, she was elected secretary of student government while also serving as president of the sophomore class council. As a junior, Jimenez served as secretary for student government. As a senior, she proudly serves as president of student government at Hamilton Preparatory Academy and was the head coordinator of Back to School Night in September. During her junior year, Jimenez was awarded first place for her essay entry in the Association of Black Women Lawyers of New Jersey Essay Contest. She also serves as a student-athlete as a key member of the Elizabeth girls tennis team, a member of the AVID leadership club, and a member of the Elizabeth High School Speech and Debate team.

Several performances took place prior to the official start of the meeting, including the “The More We Get Together” by Learning Station, performed by Pre-K students of Mabel G. Holmes School No. 5 Annex, “Be Responsible, Safe and Respectful” by Patty Shukla, performed by 3rd grade students of School No. 5, “The Imperial Crown” by Les Taylor, performed by 7th and 8th grade students of School No. 5, and “Mi Tierra” by Gloria Estefan, performed by 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students of School No. 5.

The Board recognized Elizabeth Police Department officers who participate in the Youth Empowerment Program for their outstanding community service. Detective Michael Gonzalez, Officer Rodrigo Gualdron, Officer Michael Castro, Officer Veronica Mayorga, Officer Melissa Caballero, Officer Hector Cifuentes, Officer Paul Davila, Officer Juan Ramirez, Officer Tahiry Duran, Officer Jose Xicara, Officer Celia Xicara, Officer William Aparicio, and Officer Ruth Henriquez (Kean University) were all presented certificates from the Board. Testimonials from schools who host the program were shared with the public to highlight the success of the program and the extraordinary work of the officers.