Return to Headlines

Board of Education Meeting February 24, 2022

At the February 24 Elizabeth Board of Education meeting at the Thomas G. Dunn Sports Center, the meeting opened with a moment of silence for the passing of former Elizabeth Public Schools Mitchell Building Security Guard Donald Johnson.

John E. Dwyer Technology Academy student Rakeem A. Boykins led the Pledge of Allegiance followed by a recording of the Star-Spangled Banner. George Washington Academy School No. 1 Music Teacher Mr. Kerry Stubbs performed the African American National Anthem, “Lift Every Voice and Sing” by James Weldon Johnson and Boykins returned to lead the Pledge of Ethics.

The performances for the evening were inspired by and in celebration of Black History Month, including the “Divine Nine” dance routine to a medley of selected songs, performed by students from George Washington Academy School No. 1; “A Legacy of Strength, A Blueprint of Hope”, performed by students from Winfield Scott School No. 2; “Freedom: From Bondage to Liberation”, performed by students from Mabel G. Holmes School No. 5 and John E. Dwyer Technology Academy; and “So Strong”, performed by students from Nicholas Murray Butler School No. 23. The Board commended the students for their excellent performances and recognized the Elizabeth Public Schools Black History Month Committee for their instrumental role in organizing and promoting Black History through classroom lessons through many hours of work and preparation, including the performances of the evening.

Following the performances, Elizabeth Public Schools Director of Curriculum and Instruction Aaron Goldblatt and district consultant of DLH Enterprises Dr. Davida Lindsay Harewood presented how Elizabeth Public Schools continues to infuse African-American History into lessons throughout the social studies curriculum in accordance with the goals of the Amistad Commission. Special guest Reverend Dr. Wanda M. Lundy of Siloam Hope First Presbyteran Church was called up after the presentation to share her remarks on this important topic.

The Board also celebrated and recognized excellent achievements of members of the Elizabeth Public Schools Professional Learning Community and greater Elizabeth community. Among those honored at the meeting:

Elizabeth Public Schools Black History Month Committee

Kerry Calvert Stubbs

Story Shawneequa Thompson

Ameerah Nichole Boone

Ana Carla Cobas

Alfred Aguilar

Maryse Abigail Baird

Edyta Drobniewska

Erna Letemps

Samaiyah Daa’Iyah Simpson

Diana Giselle Fonseca

Hazel Outley

Marlone Dewayne Noyan

Tamika R. Riddick

Sherly Romelus Adisa

Krzysztof D. Kowalewski

Rita C. Romero

Susan Sulai Hernandez

Taliah Nahree Sessoms

Ana-Carolina Pena

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Interfaith Committee

Honorary Member Chessie Dentley Roberts

Rev. William H. Ingram

Rev. Leonard Grayson

Rev. George E. Britt

Rev. Steffie Bartley

Rev. Joseph Adair Jr.

Yolanda Eady-Perkins

Rod Spearman

Donna Lowe Alexander

Feret Fenelus

William Gallman, Jr.

Denise Lowe

Stanley Neron

Patricia Perkins-Auguste

Darryl Robinson

Joyce Paschell

Alonzo Jones

Crystal Orr (Urban League of Union County YP’s)