Return to Headlines

EBOE Reorg Mtg. 1/6/20

At the Elizabeth Board of Education reorganization meeting on January 6, 2020 at Elizabeth High School – Frank J. Cicarell Academy, the meeting opened with Superintendent Olga Hugelmeyer reading and presenting a resolution from the Board to Mayor J. Christian Bollwage. Supervisor of Visual and Performing Arts Tracy Monteiro was called to the stage to introduce the 2019 US Bands Group 5 Open State Champion Elizabeth High School Marching Band and their performance of “Heist,” featuring the classical music piece “Palladio” by Karl Jenkins, directed by Mr. Benjamin Schwartz. Also called to the stage was Head Coach and 2019 State Sectional Coach of the Year Jacques Gonzales to introduce the 2019 Union County Conference, Co-Union County, and North 2, Group 4 State Champion Elizabeth Varsity Boys Soccer Team along with a video highlighting their outstanding season.

Members of the Elizabeth High School Marching Band and the Elizabeth Varsity Boys Soccer Team were honored by the Board and called to the stage to be recognized by the audience.

Outgoing Board President Stephanie Pestana addressed the audience, thanking her fellow Board members and the community once more for their support and offering best wishes to the new president who will guide the Board in 2020.

The three Board members elected to seats in November were sworn in, starting with incumbent Diane Barbosa who was sworn in for her third term on the Board by the Honorable Judge Jubilo L. Afonso. Next was incumbent Nathalie Hernandez who was sworn in for her first full term as a member of the Board by the Honorable Councilman Francisco Cuesta, followed by incumbent Stanley Neron, who was sworn into his third term on the Board by the Honorable Mayor J. Christian Bollwage.

For the selection of the new Board President, Board member Charlene Bathelus nominated Diane Barbosa, who was unanimously voted in as President. Jerry Jacobs was selected for the Vice President seat, voted in unanimously following a nomination by Board member Stanley Neron.

New Vice President Jerry Jacobs thanked his Board colleagues for their support and the opportunity to serve as vice president while looking forward to a great 2020 to propel the district to new heights.

Board Member Nathalie Hernandez took time to acknowledge the many people who encouraged, mentored, stood by, voted for, and supported her to serve on the Board and that she will work day in and day out to advocate on behalf of all of Elizabeth’s students, sharing that it is her passion to empower youth and guide them towards their goals.

Board Member Stanley Neron thanked his family for always being there for him and for being the foundation of his life and all the goals he has as well as stated his intention of serving on the Board was to pave the way for so many young people to a brighter future. He further shared his appreciation for those who came before him and those who have supported him and the members of the Board as he is now embarking on his third term and that through working together, Elizabeth Public Schools can be a model district not only for the State of New Jersey, but also for this country.

New President Diane Barbosa shared her reasons for continuing her journey as a Board member, including that her heart beats an extra beat when she walks into classrooms to visit students or plans projects that support student achievement, that her vision is “to make a difference in your child’s life,” and that everyone who walks through the doors, whether at a school or administrative building, has the right to be treated with dignity, with respect, and have the best learning experience and work experience possible. She concluded by offering her thanks and gratitude to her family, friends, Board colleagues, district team members, students, families, community members, and elected officials and then introduced the individual members of the Elizabeth Board of Education in 2020.