Return to Headlines

EHS Top 100 Honored at the 28th Annual Academic Excellence Awards Dinner

The top 100 students and Governor’s Educators of the Year from Elizabeth Public Schools seven high schools were honored at the 28th Annual Academic Excellence Awards Dinner at The Westwood in Garwood on June 23. Among those to speak at the event were New Jersey Senator (District 20) Joseph Cryan, City of Elizabeth Mayor J. Christian Bollwage, City of Elizabeth Council President/Councilwoman-At-Large Patricia Perkins-Auguste, 2021 Democratic Primary winner for New Jersey Assembly (District 20) Bishop Reginald W. Atkins, Elizabeth Board of Education President Jerry Jacobs, Superintendent Olga Hugelmeyer, Thomas Jefferson Arts Academy Teacher of Theater Arts Sandra Toll, and overall Class of 2021 Valedictorian Istabraq R. Musa from Elizabeth High School – Frank J. Cicarell Academy. Teacher- Student Activities Frank Mazza, who is retiring at the end of the school year, was also honored for his 42 years of dedicated service to the Elizabeth Public Schools community, especially for all he has done for the students of Elizabeth’s seven high schools over the years.

Congratulations to our top 100 students and seven outstanding teachers from our high schools for their exceptional achievements and to Frank Mazza for a wonderful career!