

May 4, 2021

Dear Proud Elizabeth Public School Teacher,

The past year has provided incredible challenges that have required extraordinary resilience and strength to navigate. Reaching this point in our journey of reopening schools for in-person instruction has been nothing short of inspiring and could not have been done without the collective effort of the entire Elizabeth Public Schools learning community.

Rising above the circumstances of the pandemic to deliver high quality education and services to our students and families has required heroic efforts, and among our greatest heroes in achieving this is our teachers. From March 2020 when we closed the doors to our schools to the past several weeks when we reopened them, you have served so many roles in keeping our students engaged in teaching and learning and our families connected to their children's education.

On Teacher Appreciation Day and throughout Teacher Appreciation Week, learning communities throughout the United States will come together to appreciate educators and the lengths they will go to ensure every student, no matter who they are or where they live, has the tools to learn, grow, and thrive.

As leaders within the Elizabeth Public Schools learning community, we are proud of you for your devotion to your students as well as the determination you have shown throughout this pandemic experience to keep your students learning, growing, and succeeding both at home in virtual classrooms and now back in our schools in actual classrooms.

We can say with certainty that the past year has given families and those of all professions and walks of life an incredible appreciation for the heroic qualities it takes to be a teacher.

On behalf of the Elizabeth Board of Education and the Elizabeth Public Schools community, we offer our heartfelt gratitude for all you have done and continue to do to preparing our students for future success.

Sincerely,

Jerry D. Jacobs

Board President

Elizabeth Board of Education



Jacobs President



Moreno-Ortega Vice President



Nathalie Alcaide-Hernandez



Diane Barbosa



Charlene **Bathelus**



Maria 7 Carvalho



Iliana Chevres



Stanley Neron



Stephanie G. Pestana